::: 網站導覽 English VersionEnglish 列印友善列印 搜尋說明
主題計畫 > 格陵蘭望遠鏡與次毫米波特長基線干涉儀計畫

格陵蘭望遠鏡*與次毫米波特長基線干涉儀計畫

Image simulation of black hole shadow and jet
Image simulation of black hole shadow and jet
Image simulation of black hole shadow
Semi-analytical GRMHD jet model
Visualizing ray around a Kerr black hole
ASIAA Cluster for VLBI DiFX correlator.
The ALMA-NA prototype telescope at Socorro, New Mexico, with one of the JVLA antennas.
ASIAA radiometer in Eureka, Canada
ASIAA radiometer in Eureka, Canada
ASIAA radiometer in Eureka, Canada
Disassemble one of the ALMA prototype antennas for retrofitting and ready for the use of VLBI in submillimeter wavelength
Retrofitting one of the ALMA prototype antennas for the use of VLBI in submillimeter wavelength
Retrofitting one of the ALMA prototype antennas for the use of VLBI in submillimeter wavelength
Retrofitting one of the ALMA prototype antennas for the use of VLBI in submillimeter wavelength
Retrofitting one of the ALMA prototype antennas for the use of VLBI in submillimeter wavelength
ASIAA Radiometer in Greenland
ASIAA Radiometer in Greenland
ASIAA Radiometer in Greenland
Greenlan Telescope Project -- Disassembly in Socorro, NM
The Structure of the M87 Jet: A Transition from Parabolic to Conical Streamlines

天文學上最終極觀測標的之一為以相當於事件視界的角解析度來直接觀測到黑洞及其周遭。觀測,特別是對事件視界的成像極為重要,因為這對研究廣義相對論強場效應,黑洞邊緣吸積盤及外向流過程以及黑洞的自旋等都開啟了新的窗口。

本所同時擁有 SMAALMA 使用權, 這兩個陣列若聯合成為一個超長基線干涉儀系統,可望達到數微角秒的角解析力。目前已知有兩個超大質量黑洞,即位於銀河系中心的SgrA*M87的核心,其尺寸大得足以使用次毫米波段VLBI進行解析。我們提議再增加一座望遠鏡,與SMAALMA組成金三角。結合這三座望遠鏡,將能作到對黑洞的成像。這是僅使用由SMAALMA組成之單一基線所不能作到的。

美國國家科學基金會(NSF)已於2011年同意將ALMA-北美團隊興建的12米Vertex原型機望遠鏡提供給本所帶領的研究團隊,我們的合作機構包括史密松天文台(SAO)、美國國家電波天文台(NRAO)和海斯塔克天文台(Haystack Observatory)。我們建議將這個望遠鏡架設於格陵蘭以實現submm-VLBI。 目前南極有南極望遠鏡(SPT),藉由結合SPTSMAALMA,南天的部份已可以組成submm-VLBI。但對北天而言,要使第三座望遠鏡能與SMAALMA連成submm-VLBI,其最佳放置地點會是位於北極圈內海拔3,200米高的格陵蘭Summit Station,因此我們將這座12米望遠鏡更名為格陵蘭望遠鏡。

* 與史密松天文台、美國國家電波天文台和海斯塔克天文台合作的計畫

連結至計畫網站

電話: 886-2-3365-2200 傳真: 886-2-2367-7849
一般事務: asiaa_replace2@_asiaa.sinica.edu.tw 媒體連絡: epo_replace2@_asiaa.sinica.edu.tw
台北市10617羅斯福路四段1號 中央研究院/台灣大學天文數學館11樓

::: Sitemap Chinese Version中文 PrintPrint Friendly search help
Project > GLT/VLBI

The Greenland Telescope (GLT)* and Submillimeter VLBI

Extreme jet ejections from the black hole X-ray binary V404 Cygni
Velocity Field of M87 jet
Velocity Field of M87 jet
VSOP image of M87 at 5 GHz
VSOP image of M87 at 5 GHz
Parabolic Streamline of the Black Hole-driven Jet from ten to million gravitational radii in M87
Deep inside Perseus A — A Space VLBI telescope makes a sharp image of the forming black hole jets in the core of a radio galaxy
Resolving the Geometry of Innermost Relativistic Jets in Blazars
Image simulation of black hole shadow and jet
Image simulation of black hole shadow and jet
Image simulation of black hole shadow
Semi-analytical GRMHD jet model
Visualizing ray around a Kerr black hole
ASIAA Cluster for VLBI DiFX correlator.
The ALMA-NA prototype telescope at Socorro, New Mexico, with one of the JVLA antennas.
ASIAA radiometer in Eureka, Canada
ASIAA radiometer in Eureka, Canada
ASIAA radiometer in Eureka, Canada
Disassemble one of the ALMA prototype antennas for retrofitting and ready for the use of VLBI in submillimeter wavelength
Retrofitting one of the ALMA prototype antennas for the use of VLBI in submillimeter wavelength

One of the ultimate observation goals in astrophysics is to directly observe the immediate surrounding of a black hole with angular resolution comparable to its event horizon. Observing and imaging its event horizon would be extremely important because it would open a new window on the study of General Relativity in the strong field regime, accretion and outflow processes at the edge of a black hole, the existence of an event horizon, and fundamental black hole physics, e.g. spin.

ASIAA has access to Atacama Large Millimeter/submillimeter Array (ALMA) in Chile, and the James Clerk Maxwell Telescope (JCMT) and the Submillimeter Array (SMA) in Hawaii, linked together as a VLBI system, a potential angular resolution of a few micro-arcseconds can be achieved. There are two supermassive black holes (SMBH) with apparent sizes large enough to resolve with VLBI at submillimeter (submm) wavelengths: SgrA* at the Galactic Center, and the nucleus of M87. ASIAA proposed to add a fourth telescope to form a triangle with these telescopes. The presence of these telescopes will enable imaging, which would not be possible with a single baseline consisting of the JCMT/SMA and ALMA.

The National Science Foundation (NSF) in the United States awarded the 12m ALMA-North America Vertex Prototype Telescope to a team led by the ASIAA and the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) in 2011. We proposed to deploy the 12m Telescope to Greenland in order to pursue submm-VLBI. Given the presence of the South Pole Telescope (SPT) in South Pole, submm-VLBI can be done for the southern sky by combining the SPT with the JCMT/SMA and ALMA. For the northern sky, Summit Station at 3200m in Greenland in the Arctic Circle, would be the best location for submm-VLBI with the SMA and ALMA. We finished the construction of the 12-m telescope at Thule, Greenland, and now renamed the Greenland Telescope (GLT). .

* collaborating with Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory, MIT Haystack Observatory, & National Radio Astronomy Observatory

link to project site

TEL: 886-2-3365-2200 FAX: 886-2-2367-7849
General: asiaa_replace2@_asiaa.sinica.edu.tw Media Request: epo_replace2@_asiaa.sinica.edu.tw
11F of AS/NTU Astronomy-Mathematics Building, No.1, Sec. 4, Roosevelt Rd, Taipei 10617, Taiwan, R.O.C.