::: 網站導覽 English VersionEnglish 列印友善列印 搜尋說明
主題計畫 > 掩星計畫

掩星計畫(TAOS/TAOS II)

Shadow of a KBO projected onto the surface of the Earth
An occultation event occurs when a KBO passes between the telescope and a distant star
An occultation event occurs when a KBO passes between the telescope and a distant star
The four TAOS telescopes on top of Lu-Lin Mountain.
TAOS telescopes
TAOS telescopes
TAOS II Groundbreaking Ceremony.
Cross sectional view of the TAOS II CMOS camera design
Rear View of the TAOS II Telescopes
TAOS II Telescopes
Conceptual design of the TAOS II CMOS cameras.
The light curves derived from the TAOS zipper mode data
The lightcurves and estimated diameter of (62) Erato from occultation
TAOS II at San Pedro Mártir Observatory
TAOS II at San Pedro Mártir Observatory
TAOS II at San Pedro Mártir Observatory
TAOS II at San Pedro Mártir Observatory
TAOS II at San Pedro Mártir Observatory
TAOS zipper-mode image of the occultation of HIP050525 (mv~8.46mag) by the asteroid (1723) Klemola (mv~15.7mag;D~31km)

座落於嘉義鹿林山上的中美掩星計畫(TAOS)望遠鏡於2005年開始運轉。中美掩星計畫是本所、國立中央大學、哈佛史密松天文物理中心與韓國延世大學的合作計畫。本計畫藉由使用2048×2048 CCD相機,每晚監測約1,000顆恆星來蒐尋位於古柏帶之太陽系天體對遠處背景恆星造成的掩星現象。本計劃利用4台望遠鏡藉以分辨因地表事件造成的假訊(地表事件不會令4台望遠鏡同時得到假訊)。

由於太陽系外圍的天體僅藉反射太陽光而發亮,如果天體太小或太遠就無法偵測到。而掩星現象與天體大小關係較弱,可以擴大偵測至太陽系盤面上更遠的天體。七年觀測結果對太陽系中直徑大於700公尺的古柏帶天體數量設下了非常嚴格的上限。這與行星如何藉這些物體碰撞而形成的理論有很重要的關聯。

為了提高對於較小古柏帶天體之偵測能力,本計畫自2013年起使用2048×2048 畫素的相機進行更為快速的觀測(每秒10次測光)。

目前的偵測率受限於望遠鏡的性能、鹿林山不佳的天候及大氣環境,因此我們決定進行海王星外自動掩星普查計畫(TAOS II)。 正在興建中的3座1.3米新型望遠鏡,已選定隸屬於墨西哥國家天文台、海拔2,800公尺的聖白多祿天文台為TAOS II台 址。藉由口徑更大的望遠鏡,加上速度更快的相機,以及觀測條件更理想的墨西哥天文臺基地位址,TAOS II能將太陽系可觀測的極限,從100天文單位範圍推展至1000天文單位範圍,可以觀測到更多的掩星事件,以估計不同大小的海王星外天體的密度,這將有助於揭開太陽系如何形成的歷史之謎。

連結至計畫網站

電話: 886-2-3365-2200 傳真: 886-2-2367-7849
一般事務: asiaa_replace2@_asiaa.sinica.edu.tw 媒體連絡: epo_replace2@_asiaa.sinica.edu.tw
台北市10617羅斯福路四段1號 中央研究院/台灣大學天文數學館11樓

::: Sitemap Chinese Version中文 PrintPrint Friendly search help
Project > TAOS

The Taiwanese-American Occultation Survey (TAOS)/Transneptunian Automated Occultation Survey (TAOS II)

Shadow of a KBO projected onto the surface of the Earth
An occultation event occurs when a KBO passes between the telescope and a distant star
An occultation event occurs when a KBO passes between the telescope and a distant star
The four TAOS telescopes on top of Lu-Lin Mountain.
TAOS telescopes
TAOS telescopes
TAOS II Groundbreaking Ceremony.
Cross sectional view of the TAOS II CMOS camera design
Rear View of the TAOS II Telescopes
TAOS II Telescopes
Conceptual design of the TAOS II CMOS cameras.
The light curves derived from the TAOS zipper mode data
The lightcurves and estimated diameter of (62) Erato from occultation
TAOS II at San Pedro Mártir Observatory
TAOS II at San Pedro Mártir Observatory
TAOS II at San Pedro Mártir Observatory
TAOS II at San Pedro Mártir Observatory
TAOS II at San Pedro Mártir Observatory
TAOS zipper-mode image of the occultation of HIP050525 (mv~8.46mag) by the asteroid (1723) Klemola (mv~15.7mag;D~31km)

The Taiwanese-American Occultation Survey (TAOS) began operations on Lulin Mountain in Chia-Yi in 2005. TAOS is a collaboration between ASIAA, National Central University (NCU), Harvard-Smithosonian Center for Astrophysics, and Yonsei University in South Korea. By monitoring some 1000 stars per night with 2048x2048 CCD cameras, this project searches for the occultation of background stars by Solar system bodies located in the Kuiper Belt. The utilization of 4 telescopes allows us to discriminate against false detections due to terrestrial events which do not produce coincident events over all telescopes.

Because objects in the outer Solar system only shine by reflected sunlight, they are undetectable if their sizes are small and if they are distant. Occultation of background stars is much less sensitive to size, and therefore can extend the detection of these objects to much greater distances in the Solar disk. Our 7-year result sets a very tight constraint on the population of objects larger than 700m in our solar system. This has important implications on how planets might have formed by the collisions of these objects.

From 2013, we have upgraded our camera, with a 1K x 1K frame transfer camera. With the new camera, we can reduce the background noise and enhance the sampling frequency of the observation to 10 Hz. This will enhance the detection efficiency of small KBOs.

Our detection rate is limited by the performance of the telescopes, and the relatively poor weather and atmospheric conditions at Lulin. We are therefore building the TAOS II system, with three new 1.3m diameter telescopes. We will place TAOS II at the San Pedro de Martir (SPM) site in Mexico, belonging to the Mexican National Astronomical Observatory (OAN), at an elevation of 2800m. With larger telescopes, fast cameras, and a better site in Mexico, TAOS II will push the observable limit of our Solar System by an order of magnitude from a distance of 100 to 1000 AU, allowing the delivery of better number densities for different sizes of these small bodies.

link to project site

TEL: 886-2-3365-2200 FAX: 886-2-2367-7849
General: asiaa_replace2@_asiaa.sinica.edu.tw Media Request: epo_replace2@_asiaa.sinica.edu.tw
11F of AS/NTU Astronomy-Mathematics Building, No.1, Sec. 4, Roosevelt Rd, Taipei 10617, Taiwan, R.O.C.