::: 網站導覽 English VersionEnglish 列印友善列印 搜尋說明
主題計畫 > 次毫米波陣列望遠鏡

次毫米波陣列望遠鏡(SMA)

A Spiral and Bipolar Outflow in CIT 6: Unwinding the Mysteries of a Carbon Star
The SMA antenna built in Taiwan.
The SMA successfully imaged the thermal dust emission at 0.85 mm from the 0.9 x 0.3 pc area of Orion Molecular Cloud-3 (OMC-3), which is located to the north of Orion nebula M42
New Generation SMA 300GHz Receiver
New Generation SMA 300GHz Receiver
New Generation SMA 300GHz Receiver
SMA optical insert
SMA optical insert
Co-polarization radiation pattern of the 7-pixel array receiver optics design for SMA
Co-polarization radiation pattern of the 7-pixel array receiver optics design for SMA
Co-polarization radiation pattern of the 7-pixel array receiver optics design for SMA
CRL 618
Nature-CenA-COmosaic
The SMA, built at the top of Mauna Kea with an altitude about 4000 meters in Hawaii.
Wideband Radio Frequency Translator
Wideband Radio Frequency Translator
Wideband Radio Frequency Translator
Wideband Radio Frequency Translator
Array receiver optics design for SMA
Array receiver optics design for SMA

2003年11月次毫米波陣列(SMA)在夏威夷的毛納基峰上正式啟用並運轉至今。本陣列是全世界第一座次毫米波干涉陣列,提供了在 此波段最高的角解析力。這組獨特先進的望遠鏡由本所與美國史密松天文台合作興建。

次毫米波陣列包括八座6米的天線,其中兩座由本所(相關的電子及接受系統)提供建造。目前次毫米波陣列有4個觀測波段,代表 頻率為230GHz、350GHz、400GHz及690GHz。其基線可到達509公尺,觀測溫濃厚雲氣塵埃在次毫米的頻譜可達到 0.1 弧秒 的高解析度。次毫米波陣列具備各式光譜儀器,特別適合觀測冷星際物質,可分析緊臨年輕或老年恆星的低溫雲氣、形成恆星或行 星的吸積盤、以及外星系中的恆星劇增區。

在藉由次毫米波陣列觀測而發表的約533篇論文中,本所同仁與其中約231篇,其中本所同仁為第一作者的有108篇。自啟用以來獲 得許多非常重要且令人振奮的研究成果。其中包括透過數條在不同激發能態的分子譜線,研究年輕恆星HH211與HH212的拱星環 境。較高激態的譜線可以探知更靠近中央恆星的區域,能讓我們了解高能量物質是如何以雙極噴流的形式噴出。這些是史上最佳的 分子噴流影像,而分子噴流被認為是拱星盤物質被吸積至中央恆星時,釋放出多餘的角動量的憑藉。

本所在夏威夷希洛有一常駐團隊擔負起次毫米波陣列的運轉維修工作。本所科學家及工程師除了時常造訪外,也可在台北運用遠端 操作次毫米波陣列進行觀測。

連結至計畫網站

電話: 886-2-3365-2200 傳真: 886-2-2367-7849
一般事務: asiaa_replace2@_asiaa.sinica.edu.tw 媒體連絡: epo_replace2@_asiaa.sinica.edu.tw
台北市10617羅斯福路四段1號 中央研究院/台灣大學天文數學館11樓

::: Sitemap Chinese Version中文 PrintPrint Friendly search help
Project > SMA

SAO/ASIAA Submillimeter Array (SMA)

A Spiral and Bipolar Outflow in CIT 6: Unwinding the Mysteries of a Carbon Star
The SMA antenna built in Taiwan.
The SMA successfully imaged the thermal dust emission at 0.85 mm from the 0.9 x 0.3 pc area of Orion Molecular Cloud-3 (OMC-3), which is located to the north of Orion nebula M42
New Generation SMA 300GHz Receiver
New Generation SMA 300GHz Receiver
New Generation SMA 300GHz Receiver
SMA optical insert
SMA optical insert
Co-polarization radiation pattern of the 7-pixel array receiver optics design for SMA
Co-polarization radiation pattern of the 7-pixel array receiver optics design for SMA
Co-polarization radiation pattern of the 7-pixel array receiver optics design for SMA
CRL 618
Nature-CenA-COmosaic
The SMA, built at the top of Mauna Kea with an altitude about 4000 meters in Hawaii.
Wideband Radio Frequency Translator
Wideband Radio Frequency Translator
Wideband Radio Frequency Translator
Wideband Radio Frequency Translator
Array receiver optics design for SMA
Array receiver optics design for SMA

The Submillimeter Array (SMA) was dedicated on Mauna Kea in Hawaii during November 2003, and has been operational ever since. It is the only interferometer operating at submillimeer wavelengths, providing the highest angular resolution at this wavelength. This unique advanced telescope is a collaboration between the ASIAA and the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) in the US.

SMA consists of eight 6-meter antennas, with two of them (including the associated electronics and receiver systems) delivered by ASIAA under close collaborations with university groups and industry in Taiwan. It operates at the frequencies of 230, 345, 400, and 690 GHz. It can be arranged into configurations with baselines as long as 509 m, allowing us to observe submillimeter emission from warm, dense gas and dust at unprecedented high resolutions of up to 0.1 arcsecond. The SMA targets the cold interstellar medium with a great assortment of spectroscopic tools, diagnosing cool regions in the immediate vicinity of both young and evolved stars, the disks from which stars and planets form, and the active star forming regions in galaxies.

Some 533 papers have been produced, 231 of which have ASIAA co-authors and 108 papers have ASIAA first authors. Some of the most important and exciting results obtained since the SMA dedication include the use of a number of molecular lines at different excitation energies to study the circumstellar environment of two young stars (HH211, HH212). The higher excited lines can probe much closer to the central star and reveal the manner in which energetic material is being ejected in the form of bipolar jets. These images are the best ones ever made for molecular ejection, which is now understood as the means by which a circumstellar disk can remove excess angular momentum to facilitate accretion of matter onto the central star.

As a partner of the SMA project, ASIAA contributes towards the maintenance and operation of the array on Mauna Kea. ASIAA has a small local staff residing in Hilo, Hawaii. In addition, the scientific and engineering staff visits the site regularly, and conducts remote operation from Taipei.

link to project site

TEL: 886-2-3365-2200 FAX: 886-2-2367-7849
General: asiaa_replace2@_asiaa.sinica.edu.tw Media Request: epo_replace2@_asiaa.sinica.edu.tw
11F of AS/NTU Astronomy-Mathematics Building, No.1, Sec. 4, Roosevelt Rd, Taipei 10617, Taiwan, R.O.C.